This new feature was announced few days back and now it is gradually rolling out beta testers before the general rollout.
Photos and videos sent using the view once mode can only be viewed once, and they disappear from the chat after you dismiss the photo or the video. You’ll also be able to verify if the recipient as seen the media or not.
The media will disappear from the chat once you have viewed it. This will allow users to save up on space.
Table of Content
How to Check if the View Once feature is Available for You
To verify, when sharing a media, check if there is a view once button is available or not. When you send photos and videos using view once, they can only be viewed once, and you’re notified when the recipient has opened them.
Everything You Should Know About The Feature
If you disable read receipts, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once, but you cannot see when the recipient opens yours. In groups you can see when other participants open expiring photos even if you have disabled read receipts.
The recipient might save the photo or video taking screenshots or video captures, and WhatsApp won’t notify you because there isn’t a screenshot detection: be careful!
You can also share photos and videos set to view once in groups, and you can see who opened them in Message Info.
Blocked contacts in common groups can still open those photos and videos: in fact, they cannot message or call you but they can still interact with you in groups.
If you send a photo using view once to people that haven’t this feature enabled, the view once feature will still work and they can only view it once.
This feature is already rolling out to Android beta testers, and is expected to rollout to all android users in the coming weeks.